Reviews, YA

Secrets of the Starcrossed Review

Secrets of the Starcrossed (The Once and Future Queen, Book 1) by Clara O’Connor
Secrets of the Starcrossed ReviewSeries: The Once and Future Queen #1
Published by HarperCollins UK on 01/21/2021
Genres: Arthurian, Dystopian, Love & Romance
Format: ARC, eBook

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Goodreads

An absolute must-read for fans of The Hunger Games...

In a world where the Roman Empire never fell, two starcrossed lovers fight to ignite the spark of rebellion...

Londinium, the last stronghold of the Romans left in Britannia, remains in a delicate state of peace with the ancient kingdoms that surround it. As the only daughter of a powerful merchant, Cassandra is betrothed to Marcus, the most eligible bachelor in the city.

But then she meets Devyn, the boy with the strange midnight eyes searching for a girl with magic in her blood.
A boy who will make her believe in soulmates...

When a mysterious sickness starts to leech the life from citizens with Celtic power lying dormant in their veins, the imperial council sets their schemes in motion. And so Cassandra must make a choice: the Code or Chaos, science or sorcery, Marcus or Devyn?

Panem meets the Grishaverse in this explosive new trilogy perfect for readers of Marie Lu, Bella Forrest, and Cassandra Clare.

Right side Review Section Divider

The bad thing about reading ARC is loving the book so much and not having people to share it with!!! Not to mention waiting for publication day and then waiting for next book’s release date!!

This was such a great read. I had a bit of hard time getting into it, especially when Cassandra goes over the history of the Empire. Once she becomes fixated on Devyn, that’s when the fun starts. Throw Marcus into the mix and it’s shaping up to be such a great series.

The story gave me Matched by Allie Condie vibes. Government dictating who to marry, what to buy, what to do, where to go and anyone who deviates from that is a rebel. And of course, there always has to be a rebel group against said government.

Cass is such a great character. She falls for her guy and does just about anything to have him and also keep him safe. Devyn can be a little frustrating but such an interesting setup. Marcus was a curveball. Kind of reminds me of Xander from Matched, perfect boy in the eyes of the government but that’s not really who he is.

 

The Once and Future Queen

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *